๐ Purpose
To add data to the current foreground overlay graphic, use the Add menu โ Save. The form will appear, with the cursor active in the first field.
๐ฑ๏ธ Entering Data
Click on a field with the left mouse button to select it.
The edit box will be highlighted for data entry.
โฉ Shortcuts for Repeated Data
Single fields: double-click on a blank field to copy the value from the previous record (uses clipboard).
Clipboard functions: standard Windows shortcuts work:
<Ctrl> C(copy),<Ctrl> V(paste).Copy whole form: click the Copy to clipboard button to paste into another application.
๐ Link From Database
[LinkFromDatabase] button: retrieves all field values from the last viewed/saved record.
Requires a DLink name set in overlay setup.
For most situations, using the clipboard may be faster than linking.
๐พ Saving Records
1๏ธโฃ Save Record Button
Saves the data entered into the overlay database file and returns to the map.
Alternative: press [F4].
Saved data can be re-accessed via View Overlay Data.
Records cannot be saved if a unique keyed field already exists in the overlay.
2๏ธโฃ Saving & Reattaching Unused Database Records
If your overlay database has a unique keyed field specified in its definition, you can reconnect an unused database record to a new graphic that you are adding.
๐ Steps to Reattach an Unused Record
Identify the unique key value from the original unused database record.
Enter this value into the unique field in the form.
Click the Save button.
A dialog box will appear asking you to confirm:
Save โYesโ or โNoโ?
If you select Yes and the value matches an unused database record:
A second dialog box appears:
"Existing Unused Database record found with matching unique keys โ Connect?"
Yes: connects the database record to your new graphic and auto-fills other fields from the record.
No: returns you to the form so you can alter the unique field value.
๐ See Delete Feature for details on how unused records are created.
๐พ Saving the Connected Record
After connecting, click the Save Record button again (or press [F4]) to save the updated entry.
โ ๏ธ Warning
If the unique key is already attached to an existing used record, the system will display a warning message and prevent duplication.
3๏ธโฃ Cancel Current Operation Button
The Cancel Current Operation button is the second button displayed at the top of the overlay form.
Clicking this button cancels the process of adding data to the overlay.
Any text entered into the fields will not be saved to the overlay database.
You will be returned to the map.
The graphic at this point is unsaved and must either be:
Cleared,
Added with new data, or
Saved with the correct database information.
๐ Link to Database
The Link to Database button is the sixth button displayed on the overlay form. It initiates the process where data from the form is written to the Dlink file (database link file) specified during overlay design in Setup Application.
Process:
Click the Link to Database button.
A message โDlink Connectedโฆโ appears in the status box at the bottom of the screen.
Jump to the linked application to perform any necessary process and pass back required information.
On returning, a message โDlink Disconnected.โ appears in the status box.
Internally, the Dlink file is deleted.
If the external application updated the Dlink file, the changes automatically appear in the overlay form.
Click Save Record to update the overlay database.
๐ Link from Database
The Link from Database button allows GGP to read the Dlink file and update the database records within GGP, without sending data back to the linked application.
Click Save Record to update the overlay database.
For this link to work, the external database must contain the GGPKey (APGRECNO) or the unique key for GGP to accept the update.
If a DlinkExec name has been entered during application setup, the DlinkExec process will execute automatically when the Link to Database button is clicked.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.